European Open

European Open Championship

Since 2005 Partille Cup hosted the European Open Championship M19 and W18. Partille Cup organizes the tournament in coorporation with the Swedish Handball Federation and EHF, the European Handball Federation, and is played between some of the world´s best youth national teams, female – and male juniors participate every other year. The agreement with European Open reached the end of 2016.

Prior to 2017, the concept has changed and there will be a tournament for younger national teams. Therefore boys 17 and girls 16 ages will compete in the tournament in the future.

In competition with other cities and events has now Partille Cup managed to recruit left the tournament in 2017 and 2018. There, boys 17 (boys born 2000 or later) will be first out. Group phases will be played in Lisebergshallen and Valhalla, while the finals will be plays in Scandinavium. Besides, the concept is the same as before. The host city, Gothenburg, who has a long experience of events, is renowned for it´s friendly atmosphere with helpful people who like working together to make the event as good as possible, for both participants and visitors. The town is a small city and offers participants in the European Open walking distance of all the arenas where they play, hotels and restaurants.

In previous years, several international superstars participated in the tournament – Uwe Gensheimer (Germany), Oscar Carlén, Niclas Ekberg, Isabelle Gulldén, Jim Gottfridsson (Sweden), Aron Palmarson (Iceland), Nora Mörk (Norway), Cristina Neagu (Romania), Xavier Barachet (France), Elisabeth Chavez Hernandez (Spain) och Louise Burgaard, (Danmark), to name a few.

It is the European Open as the stars of tomorrow are born and you have the chance to see them live.
Welcome to follow the tournament in place between 2-7 July. You will find game schedule and results on Partille Cup’s regular game schedule. Already now you can download the game schedule through the link below.

This year’s participating nations:

Norway Romania Iceland Finland
Slovakia Poland Czech Republic Austria
Estonia Netherlands Luxemburg Georgia
Belarus Sweden Israel Faroe Islands

Game schedule (pdf)